Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am somewhat new to this forum so I didn't know where to ask this.

Any way, let´s get down to business. I am found this old saxophone in a junkyard(No idea how it got there). It turns out it´s a 1924 Conn C Melody. Now a while back I asked on this website to see if they had any value. I was told that they weren't very special. Kind of a bummer.

I am a mechanic and I have always had a thing for classic cars. Especially a style called rat rod. Apparently this taste in style has spilled into my taste in saxophones. Since this is getting quite lengthy... I would like to restore the sax to playing condition but I have a strange desire for it. I would like for the body to be left as it is(Cosmetically I mean) and for the machinery to be restored to new. I don't know if I used the correct word. By machinery I mean bolts, rods, springs keys, etc... That sort of thing. Also to have the inside of the bell, at least as far as the eye can see, polished.

Since this is not a very valuable or rare sax I intend to have fun and have it more as decoration.

Could any of you sax veterans give me an example of how a sax like this would look? Although my mind is pretty made up about it I still would like to have an idea of how the saxophone would look like that. Or at least something similar. Any advice or pictures that slightly resemble my description are very welcome.

PS: Sorry for my bad English. I am not a native English speaker.

·
Forum Contributor 2016-17
661 Posts
Your sax probably had a satin silver finish on the body and keys, with a shiny gold wash inside the bell. Does that help?

p.s. I have a '59 Chevy and a '68 Olds Cutlass convertible.

·
Registered
929 Posts
What you're trying to say be machinery would be keywork. I'm not exactly sure how this would look, though, I haven't seen anything that looks like this.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,831 Posts