Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks,
So I've been repairing clarinets for many years and started delving in to saxophone repairs a few years back. Its been a wonderful experience and I'm learning more every day.
I'm going to be faced with something I haven't done yet soon.
I have an old Buescher True Tone tenor that I picked up that I plan on overhauling. Everything looks good but the neck tenon is loose, I can tell it was repaired sloppily by someone.
So I'm going to be taking it all apart and cleaning it up really well as a first step.
But I haven't done any large scale soldering up to this point, many posts, key guard feet, and even silver brazing keys (which I was already doing with clarinets anyway).
Typically with the smaller soldering jobs I will clean up, then get the some solder on the bottom of what I'm attaching (I believe this may be called tinning?), then proceed.

With such a big amount to solder I'm a little curious if there's a common approach to this.

Any tips or tricks? I probably won't be getting to this for a few weeks but I'm already thinking about it.

thanks,
Klook

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
4,691 Posts
Tin both surfaces, but keep them relatively solder free.

Assemble the joint, turn the instrument upside down and rest it on the tenon, wrap a wet rag around the posts, heat with a broad flame the whole tenon, then bring your solder in, it should just flow around the whole circumference with no problems, if it doesnt add more flux.

Nothing more complicated than that

Steve

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
... I have an old Buescher True Tone tenor that I picked up that I plan on overhauling. Everything looks good but the neck tenon is loose...