Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, sorry but this is all I've got! I'm looking to see if anyone can ID this Tenor. There is an estate auction in a couple days and I am looking to possible purchase it for a backup to my current tenor (40-50's Malerne). It looks a little Martin-esque to me...but I am not an expert by any means.

Thanks for any help!

PS Yes I will see it in person the day of the sale but trying to see if I can figure out the make/model beforehand so I can think about how much I want to pay, etc. View attachment 232722

PPS There is also an alto for sale that I might pick up. Again, same situation with having only one picture (sorry!) View attachment 232724

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you. :) I know it's not the best picture. Unfortunately, that is all that was posted. Waiting until the sale to check them out myself is the real answer-but I am an impatient person. lol

Last night at practice I discovered a missing pivot screw-had to use a paperclip-and one of the big pads on the bell kept falling out of the cup, despite my harried lighter attempts. I *really* need a backup so I can send mine for some fixing (ugh).

·
Registered
3,715 Posts
Something seems odd about the neck of that horn in the first pic. It could just be the angle it's sitting at but the proportions don't look right for a normal tenor.

You might want to consider checking out some used horns from dealers that would meet your needs with fewer unknowns and potential hassles. SOTW member JayeLID runs this business; http://www.2ndending.com/saxes.html

He's well known and regarded here and offers great deals on some of the lesser known vintage horns that would arrive on your doorstep ready to play and needing nothing for sometime.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,981 Posts
Thank you, kind sir.