Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I have been playing alto sax for about 9 years now, and have expanded to playing bari for the symphony orchestra at my high school about a year ago, as we do not have a bassoon player. After being close to the cutoff for district band in a very competitive area, my director suggested I try out on both alto and bari this year, which I intend to do. The question I have is regarding setup.

On my alto (Yamaha 62-III), I use a Selmer c* and a Vandoren MO ligature with Vandoren red box Java 3 reeds. Currently on bari I play on a Yamaha 5C mouthpiece with blue box Vandoren 3 and it gets the job done sounding 'bassoon' like, but to obtain the bari sax sound I am looking for would I be able to use the same setup I do on alto, or does the experimental trial and error period come back into play on a different horn?

Thank you all!!

·
Registered
3,868 Posts
On my alto (Yamaha 62-III), I use a Selmer c* and a Vandoren MO ligature with Vandoren red box Java 3 reeds. Currently on bari I play on a Yamaha 5C mouthpiece with blue box Vandoren 3 and it gets the job done sounding 'bassoon' like, but to obtain the bari sax sound I am looking for would I be able to use the same setup I do on alto, or does the experimental trial and error period come back into play on a different horn?

Thank you all!!
I would say "yes" you'll probably need to experiment some but I'm sure others can give you more specific suggestions. I'm a little biased since I don't really care for the sound I can get out of any of those close-tipped concert style bari pieces. I have a couple of them, the best of which is the Yani 5 that came with my B992, but they all pretty much sound the same to me.

·
Registered
546 Posts