Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing sax for a few years now (but not recently as such) and wanted to sort of make more use of it.

Basically I wanna be able to run my sax through some effect pedals or such, via a wireless mic preferably.

The catch kinda is money wise: I'm not exactly well fronted on this front being still a student.

Just wondering what you guys would recommend as being good, bog standard stuff, but not £200 odd.

Thanks.

·
Registered
196 Posts
I was in you exact position a few weeks ago. First of all, this won't be cheap no matter which way you do it if you're on a student budget. I bought a SM58 instrument mic and bought a Line 6 M5 multi effects pedal. The M5 has over 100 effects, but you can only use one at a time. The effects sound great, and I would recommend a multi effects pedal, beacuse you don't want to spend hundreds more on stomp boxes you might not even like. I have a crappy 15w amp that I use for practicing in my room

For live shows I bought a DI box to go straight into the PA. I also bought an adapter that plugs into the mic that allows it to be hooked up to the amp with an instrument cable.
Hope this helped, and good luck

·
Registered
1,440 Posts
Nothing that involves wireless microphones is cheap, or even reasonable. It's all absurdly expensive. For $400-ish, I don't think you can do it. Maybe if you had twice that much.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2017
6,086 Posts
Not a big fan yet but The Samson airline 77 wireless can be had for $200-$250. There is a 1/4" out that can be sent to a multi-fx device. Find a used alesis q4 or something for under $100. From there to your bands PA. If you've got a bigger budget or the fx are not that big a deal to you, get a personal monitor / mini PA / keyboard or acoustic guitar amp instead.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the replys!