Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,875 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I won't name names, but I've come across some college jazz ensembles that really aren't made up of college students. At least not 100%. There are at least 4 or 5 local pros playing in the band.

Is it just me or does this seem wrong to you?

It's one thing if they're pros but they're actually enrolled in the University, working on a Masters or something. There were at least 4 people in my college band I would consider working pros, but they were students working towards their degrees. The year after I graduated, one of the most technically gifted trombonists I've ever heard (UNT alum, top local pro) started working on his Masters at my alma mater and plays in the top band. That's fine. What I disagree with are professionals, who don't attend the university and may not even be signed up for the class, playing with what should be student ensembles.

The same goes for faculty doing the same thing.

IMO, this totally misrepresents the quality of the band and the program. "The band sounds great". Yeah, but the rhythm section and the lead players are all seasoned working pros, what do you expect. It's band directors trying to make the band appear better than it is. Then they cut a CD to show how great the band sounds and no tuition paying students even get to take any solos.

I think this deprives some of the students of a great learning experience. I spent a few years playing 2nd alto under a great lead player. I learned a lot. I might have learned even more when I took over the lead alto chair my last 2 years.