Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I spent the past six months focusing solely on my tone and have it way closer to where I want it. Now I want to focus on my improv. I have been improving by ear for the past 5 years and I want to change that, as though it is useful, it is hard to go from alto to tenor now since I hear things better on alto then on tenor.

I am interested in learning in the style of bebop/fusion, a la Eric Marienthal, Masato Honda, and Takahiro Miyazaki. I have been told to practice my scales (all the modes of major and melodic minor, as well as the whole step, diminished, and any other scales i can get my hands on...any recommendations?) but am wondering what would be the best method of getting towards a bebop style of playing...i.e. how to apply the learned scale to chords and songs in a way that would be beneficial to someone trying to learn in a bebop style.

I have heard of learning tunes using three different methods: a continuous scale (not sure what that is), arpeggiating chords, and learning the song as roman numerals. Which would be a good route to take for learning bebop?

Also, my jazz library is a little lacking and I need to beef it up, so I would also like to know some recommendations for listening (the usuals and the unusuals please, I'll take anything).

I realize that this is going to take time and I am hoping to practice every day but I'm in college and I'm not majoring in music so its going to be a little tough to keep up on that. I have a lot of the Aebersold recordings and a copy of the real book. Any other resources I should look into?

Thanks!

·
SOTW Columnist, Distinguished SOTW Member
23,327 Posts
I'm a long ways from being a good bebop player, but if you're asking about scales, I'd suggest working on the bebop scales:

mixolydian with maj7th added as a passing tone
minor dorian with maj3rd added as a passing tone
major scale with b6th added as a passing tone