Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and this is my first post.
I used to play a lot of saxophone (mainly tenor), when I was younger. In the last 15 years, I have not played a lot but decided that I want to start playing again.
As such, I went to search for an inexpensive tenor just to get started. I managed to pick up a Keilwerth New King stencil with the serial number 64XXX, placing it in 1969. I say stencil because even though it says "The New King" on the bell (with the correct engraving that can be found on Keilwerth branded horns) and has the serial number as well as "Made in Germany", it does not say Keilwerth anywhere. The tenor is nickel plated and the plating is very dull and pitted in some places. However, the sound is great and it only needs some minor adjustments in order to be a great player. I have no experience with nickel plated horn, since all horns I played before were either silver plate or lacquered.

I am at odds as to how I can restore, clean or polish the nickel plate to its former glory. I tried to polish it (in an inconspicuous area) with stainless steel cleaner, and even though it gets shiny, there seems to be some loss of nickel plate (you can even see it in your fingers if you wipe it afterwards) in the areas where there was pitting.

Any ideas what would be the best way forward to get this nice horn back in the condition it deservers?

Thanks!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,202 Posts
MY suggestion would be to have a tech shop either chem-bathe or sonic-clean the body. The issue here is you are not just taking about polishing it up, you are talking about cleaning it up as well.