Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

So, I've read differing opinions on when to use very carefully installed shims to get woodwind pads to seal and when to just use clamps to reseat them. I'm guessing in many cases, both techniques are required for a good seal, but I'm curious of what the woodwind technicians out there think regarding the benefits/drawbacks of each method. One obvious benefit to reseating with clamps is the technician's time (and we all know time=money)! I'm not a technician myself, but I work with one regularly as I own a business selling refurbished instruments (primarily flutes & piccs)- so while I'm aware of some of the process, I'm really a newbie in the woodwind repair world.

I guess my primary questions are, how well does an instrument that has been serviced without reseating hold up over time vs. an instrument that has been reseated? How well does each method withstand things like temperature and humidity fluctuation? And at what point in the process do you decide which technique to use?

Thanks for your insights!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
2,081 Posts
Shims for screwed-in flute pads, glue + floating for all others.
Clamps are a brute force method in my opinion and should only be used for shipping a sax (although I prefer wrapping it in saran wrap. Clamped pads that are normally open will eventually regain their natural shape, or lose their natural elasticity if clamped too hard or for too long.
A well-seated pad will completely seal a tone hole under its own weight, without any excessive force applied.

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician.
1,804 Posts
Shims for screwed-in flute pads, glue + floating for all others.
This. Although, I'd add that key bending (straightening misaligned keys), properly applied, is a valuable technique.