Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the saxophone. I'm playing a Mauriat saxello and a Conn 'Naked Lady' alto.

I've been using RicoJazz reeds (2 medium) but find them very rough. I've been reading reports that they've gone downhill lately...I wouldn't know, I haven't been playing long enough to remember the 'old days'.

So, I'm thinking about trying some new reeds and some new strengths on both axes. I had a few questions:

- I'd be interested to hear of any good reed purchasing sites on the web.
- I'd be interested to hear recommendations for other brands of reeds
- I'd be interested to hear comments pro/con about natural vs synthetics
- I'd be interested to hear informed recommendations about the potential effects and benefits of moving to other reed strengths
- Is it possible to buy less than an entire box of reeds for evaluation purposes, or do you just get stuck for whole boxes?

I'm using:

Selmer C* - soprano
Meyer5 - alto

mouthpieces.

Thanks,

bigtiny

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2008
946 Posts
Hey, bigtiny.
I hate to see unanswered posts. Maybe we'll start something.