Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up an old bundy tenor from craigslist a while back and I am finally getting around to redoing the entire sax. It was is mechanically decent shape but the pads were falling out and it is painted (from the factory) an ugly gold sparkle color.

I have completetly stripped it down, removed all keys and springs, stripped all the paint and sent it to my painter to have it painted.

The plan is to paint it bright red. My 7 year old son picked the color. Supposed to look like the car christine from the movie. He hasn't seen the movie but he like the look of the car. Figured that would be a fun way to do it and it gives my sax a fun name at the same time.

I'll post pictures soon of the entire process.

This is my first attempt at rebuilding/repadding a sax and should be a fun learning experience. This horn wasn't worth much to begin with so I figure I can't do much to devalue it anymore and I'm am sure I can improve the way it played from original by paying close attention to leveling and smothing the tone holes and properly seating the pads. several of the toneholes are very rough so that should be a good place to improve things. I will also be adding resonators to it.

This is a budget job and I hope to come in under $250 total including the cost of the instrument when all is said and done.

Feel free to comment, good or bad. I can take it.

·
Registered
208 Posts