Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm about to make an investment in some software for PC (don't get on me about MAC is better in this thread please) and am looking for some recommendations.

I am pretty new to the music software thing, but pretty good at computers...at least I make money doing PC work.

I want the ability to not just MIDI in tracks, but also write and play them back (like an orchestral score) as well as record live. I cant play everything I want on the keyboard in real-time so the ability to enter notes and play it back is important to me.

What are some good music programs that can do what I am looking for...and still get a good professional sounding mix once I become somewhat proficient?

·
Registered
1,143 Posts
If you got a Mac you'd get Garageband which is an excellent starter Midi/DAW program. And it's free. And comes with excellent sounds. Then there is Logic.....

Just about any DAW will do what you want. Reaper would probably work, but i don't think it comes with a good sound library.

http://www.reaper.fm/

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
7,919 Posts
If you got a Mac you'd get Garageband which is an excellent starter Midi/DAW program. And it's free. And comes with excellent sounds. Then there is Logic.....

Just about any DAW will do what you want. Reaper would probably work, but i don't think it comes with a good sound library.

http://www.reaper.fm/
But he does not have a Mac.

In any case, Reaper is nice once you understand it, and should work well for your needs. I'm not sure if it has notation capabilities though.

Here's list with PC hosts and sequencers to get you started.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,365 Posts
In any case, Reaper is nice once you understand it, and should work well for your needs.
Highly recommended, its a very good piece of kit.. though no notation I'm afraid.....

·
Registered
245 Posts