Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Banned
6,369 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I'm looking to buy a synthetic reed for the sole purpose of leaving it on the mouthpiece so I can pick up my horn at any time and it's all setup and ready to go. For all other situations (practicing, rehearsing and gigging) I'm quite happy with the reeds I currently use: RJS 3S (tenor).

I have used Legere before and although there were okay for a synthetic reed, the fact that the back is not smooth is a deal breaker for me. I don't want to leave a reed on my mouthpiece for extended periods of time if the back of it is not smooth.

Any idea? I was thinking of getting a Fibracell #3.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I've always dug Hahn reeds. They are fairly expensive and ship from Argentina now but I've been playing them for the last 5-6 years with no regrets. I think they sound not only OK but better than cane (for me of course. Many will disagree I'm sure.) Having said this, I always take my reed off and swab the neck and mpc after practicing for other reasons.

·
Registered
847 Posts
I suggest that you should maybe try a Harry Hartmann Fiberreed ( standard type first, before a carbon ) , suggest M, but the great bonus with Fiberreeds is that if they are too soft/ hard, for a small fee you can change it!
They play straight out of the box, and last several months, until they suddenly will not play!

Great German reeds in my humble opinion -I use them all the time!.

Blowhard2

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
I've tried Hartmann, Plasticovers, Legere, Bari plastic, and Fibracells. I use Fibracells for exactly the same reason the OP wants to use them.