Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,913 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing around with the coolest new DAW software, called "Reaper." I think although I'm still learning some of the ins and outs I will not be upgrading to Cubase 6 and instead going with this, at 1/5 the price!

www.reaper.fm/

Also, check these videos:

·
Registered
1,441 Posts
Have I not been preaching the Gospel of Reaper as the low cost alternatice to full fledge DAW systems like Protools?

It's a great piece of software at a great price for the entry level non professional user. It wont replace Protools in my tool kit, but as a quick down and dirty recording platform it cant be beat.

·
Registered
1,913 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Have I not been preaching the Gospel of Reaper as the low cost alternatice to full fledge DAW systems like Protools?

It's a great piece of software at a great price for the entry level non professional user. It wont replace Protools in my tool kit, but as a quick down and dirty recording platform it cant be beat.
I find the way it does routing makes it awesome for mixing. I can chain any plugin I want into any plugin I want and buss things anywhere.

·
Registered
2,815 Posts
I've been using it for the last couple months and couldn't agree more - perfect for the home recordist. I can see why you would want Pro Tools in a studio, but I don't see why for a single person operation you couldn't do everything you want using Reaper. I too will not be upgrading Cubase, and using the money I save by doing that to buy that nice NI Komplete kit.

As an ex-MIDI programmer, I find the inclusion of the JS scripting engine wonderful. I created this nice plugin called CC-MultiT which allows me to split and scale multiple CC streams from a single controller. Great for controlling VSTi's using my WX5...

·
Registered
482 Posts