Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a sophomore high school student and am in the steps of purchasing my own, new, professional alto saxophone. I have spent hours on countless websites (i.e. WWBW, this website :bluewink2: , saxforte.com, etc) and I am becoming increasingly interested in the Rampone and Cazzani altos, especially the R1 Jazz. I want to know how this compares with other professional saxophones out there and if it would be a good horn to use throughout high school, college, and even the rest of my life.

I am normally a tenor and bari player, and I do own my own tenor sax (Yani T901), and the only altos I have played were old Bundys and my mother's Selmer Mark VII, which is fun to play, but not really the sound that I would want to play a concert with.

Any and all criticism accepted,
AJL

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
I like my R1 alto. Full dark big sound! Low B can be tough(sometimes motorboats) as bell bow is long. With practice or something put in bell it goes away. Intonation is very good.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How would you compare it with some of the top models from the big four? (Selmer, Yani, Yamaha, Keilwerth)

·
Registered
2,549 Posts