Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Alright, lemme tell you guys my situation: I'm a college freshman, who just auditioned for ensemble classes and the such. I got into the Wind Orchestra (the lower out of the two groups, but still quite awesome) and am playing Tenor Saxophone. Now I only have experience on the Alto and like-sized instruments. I also have a limitation on mouthpieces. I can get either a S80, S90, or a Vandoren Optimum.

Now I ask of you this: Can anyone tell me the Pros and Cons of these mouthpieces? It would be very much appreciated.

Edit: Well, I just now figured that I put this in the wrong section. I'll see if I can't either get it moved/deleted. Can someone report this as being in the wrong section please? I can't do that on my own posts and don't know who the mods/admins are.

Edit again: Thanks for moving it, and I can give more info on the tenor tomorrow, as I don't have it as of now. Probably around 1-ish PM, since I won't get back here until then.

·
Registered
8,980 Posts
The newer Selmers are not as good or consistent as the older ones. You usually need to try a bunch to find a good one or you need to get a refacer to hand finish them.

Common dogma is to use a C*. This is a good size for alto but is too small for tenor. You need something around a .080" tip which is a "D" or "190" in Selmer.

Optimums are fairly new but Vandoren is not. Vandoren is making some of the best factory-made mouthpieces. You want a TL4 in the Optimum or a T20 on the V5.

·
Registered
471 Posts
http://saxontheweb.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=39665&highlight=index+classical+mouthpieces
this thread can answer your question

All in all though all those mouthpieces are great for your instrument, the pros and the cons are very subjective so it really comes down to what you prefer. If you really need to decide on a mouthpiece order all three from prowinds and return the two you don't want.