Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still new to the world of jazz. Just when I thought I had understood what chord changes meant for the improviser and what were meant by scales, I get all muddled up and confused again :T I probably made a stupid mistake along the way.

So I've decided to come to the experts... Heh. Hopefully you can answer my questions and maybe share some of your knowledge and advice.

So I have this sheet of paper with all the major, dominant and minor scales.
For A min, it shows a scale with a F sharp. But then when I decide to seek some knowledge on the internet, it always seem to say that A minor has no sharps or flats. Like on this website www.musictheory.net/lessons/22

Am I just plain wrong? Did I make a mistake somewhere? Do I have my theory all messed up?

Thanks for your help guys.

Oh... P.S: Here's what my knowledge is limited to... Bare with me here and please tell me if I'm wrong.
Chords are made up of notes played at the same time. The root note, 3rd, 5th, 7th, etc.
We then use these notes to help us choose a scale to solo over the chord changes. E.g: G7 have these notes: G, B, D, F. So I can use other scales with these notes. E.g: G7, CMaj7, Dmin7 and Emin7? (not sure about the last one..)
Amaj has 3 sharps, A dominant 2 and A minor 1. Emaj has 4, E dominant 3, E minor 2. And so on.

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
For A min, it shows a scale with a F sharp. But then when I decide to seek some knowledge on the internet, it always seem to say that A minor has no sharps or flats. Am I just plain wrong? Did I make a mistake somewhere? Do I have my theory all messed up?
There are three common forms of the minor scale:

·
Banned
28,511 Posts
For A min, it shows a scale with a F sharp. But then when I decide to seek some knowledge on the internet, it always seem to say that A minor has no sharps or flats. Like on this website www.musictheory.net/lessons/22