Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum and this is my first post here. I have been playing trumpet for 20+ years, and have been moving towards starting to double on saxophone/switch to saxophone for a long time.

I have now come across a second hand, black laqcuered Jupiter tenor sax on the web here in Sweden, and was wondering if any of you guys or gals out there new anything about this horn? I do not know the model number of the horn, but I do now that the price for a new horn like this one is about 14000 swedish crowns (the US dollar is currently worth roughly 7 swedish crowns).

Since the price for this second hand horn is 5.500 swedish crowns, it really sounds like a bargain. I have also gotten the impression that the Jupiter horns are pretty nice as far as horns for beginners go?

Thank you very much for advance for your input.

Cheers,

/Michael

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
Michael, if you can give the model type and how old it is, that would help a lot. Jupiter makes a variety of models.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A picture

I still don't know the model of the horn ( I haven't been in touch with the owner since yesterday) but I will try to post this picture (I hope posting the picture works):

/Michael

·
Registered
54 Posts
I personally think yamaha makes the best beginner and intermediate horns and are well priced. If you look on ebay, there are a few keilwerth ex 90's for sale starting for $500 but it has a reserve on this particular one but there are others, keilwerth makes awesome saxophones, i owned a sx-90 for 10 years before i switched to my mark VI , the ex90 is actually a semi pro so if you want a quality horn for a steal I would highly recommend getting that horn. Buying a jupiter is kinda like buying a westwood TV, who the heck is westwood lol and the quality would suck.

·
Registered
197 Posts