Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I've been playing sax for about 6 or 7 years now and want to upgrade for my 16th birthday in November. I fell in love with the Yamaha has-62iii silver plated, and realized there are some unanswered questions you guys can probably answer.
Is this the type of silver that needs lots of care for? If so, what exactly do you need to be doing?
Will it be okay used everyday in band and not being able to be cleaned after each time playing?
I won't be using it for marching band, but would taking it outside be detrimental and tarnishing?
Should I be afraid of tarnishing?

Thank you so much!
Rosemary
Currently playing: Cannonball Alcazar gold-laquered alto

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
4,881 Posts
Yes, it'll tarnish, but it cleans up just fine -- like new even! If you have to have a horn that looks great every day with minimal maintenance, then silver is a lot of work.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,287 Posts
Some manufacturers apply a clear-coat of lacquer over a silver finish - others don't. Some silver horns will tarnish, others won't.

I've had them both ways (lacquered and not; tarnishing finishes and not). For my silver horns that tarnished, I bought a pair of silver-polishing gloves (treated) and I went over the finish occasionally.

If you like the look of silver (and I do but most of my best playing saxophones are not silver), don't let possible tarnishing affect your decision. Even if the finish doesn't tarnish, an occasional wiping with a treated cloth will bring out the luster and be worth the effort.

Go for it and then be prepared to clean the horn occasionally. DAVE

·
12,876 Posts