Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm currently an intermediate player headed off to college, and I have been using my grandfather's old setup for about 6 or 7 years now. It's a Buescher Aristocrat with a Brilhart Ebolin Special mpc. I don't know too much about these mpcs, but from what I understand the Specials were made for beginning players. I have far surpassed the beginning stages and am ready to purchase a new horn and mpc to accommodate my playing style. My problem lies here: I've researched fairly deep into the Brilhart mpcs, but I could never find any information on the specs of this particular mpc. It has no numbers or other markings (besides "Brilhart Ebolin Special"), and I would like to know the facing/tip opening, etc. before making a new mpc purchase. Any ideas on what I've got here?

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,215 Posts
Don't give in to the hype over 'beginner', 'step-up', and 'pro' mouthpieces.
Play what ever gives you the sound and response that you are looking for.

If you take the Brilhart to your local music shop there may be someone there who can 'gauge' it for you.
Then they can give you a few options on similar mouthpieces.
You should know that the horn you decide to purchase may not like a mouthpiece with the same internal dimensions as the Brilhart.
As with everything 'horn related' try everything you can get your hands on to find out works the best for you and your sound concept.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks a lot, my friend, that actually makes a lot of sense. I definitely don't want to use this mpc anymore, it is very far away from the sound I'm looking for. I only ask because supposedly you shouldn't be jumping from a low tip opening to a high one and vice versa without working your way into it. Thanks again.

·
19,215 Posts
You can make a kind of big jump if you know what to expect.