Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
jazz, rock, funk, fusion and gospel on tenor, alto and soprano
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am currently playing a Morgan Fry Super Vintage mouthpiece which produces a fantastic tone. It has a high baffle, but the high baffle is only the length of the facing curve. The high baffle is considerably longer than that of a typical rollover baffle, but considerably shorter than the typical high step baffle. My understanding of physics is only rudimentary. However I am a public school band teacher with 25+ years of experience playing jazz, funk and rock and I also have experience as a studio musician here in Chicago. Although I don't fully understand the science behind it, my ear and playing experience has led me to develop a strong preference for mouthpieces with a high baffle, but a high baffle that is relatively short. I read a post by Morgan Fry here on SOTW over a year ago and I am paraphrasing what I took away from the discussion. Morgan said something to the effect of a high baffle only has a great impact on the oscillation of the reed for the length of the facing curve. A high baffle produces the Bernoulli effect on the air stream as it passes across the reed. I can already hear the science experts arguing back and forth as to whether this is true, but that is beside the point. The point I want the experts to address is this: it is my contention that a high baffle has a great impact on the oscillation of the reed for the length of the facing curve, but beyond the facing curve a high baffle has little to no impact on the oscillation of the reed for 2 reasons; 1. Once you get past the facing curve, the oscillation of the reed further down has much less impact on your tone since that part of the reed is not opening and closing against the facing, and 2. By the time you get past the facing curve, the reed is too stiff to be greatly impacted by changes in the air stream caused by the baffle. Through expe