Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey friends... I'm a teacher and a gigging clarinetist and saxophonist -- in my late 50s. When the decades-old dental bridgework on my upper front teeth failed (teeth 8, 9 and 10 for you who know the system,) the dentist told me the only good option was two implants plus a new crown.

Took a year and $12+ grand, but when the work was finally complete I couldn't wait to play my horns with the new teeth. Was immediately very disappointed however. The implants are "numb" (of course) and there is literally no feeling there, no feedback in terms of bite pressure, and a decidedly uncomfortable feeling when playing. No pain, just numbness and an uncomfortable sensation of pressure in the bone.

The dentist says the "feeling" will improve, although physiologically I can't see how this is possible since there are screws where live teeth used to be. (The dentist is an accordionist, BTW!) Now I realize how important live teeth are -- even just the live root with a crown or onlay -- in terms of bite feedback and transmission of vibrations into your skull. The live tooth, with its ligament foundation and a nerve connection, is very different from the 100 percent rigid, dead implant.

Might any of you who have been through this share your experience, post-implant? I'm hoping for improvement because practice and playing is really uncomfortable now. During the year of implant work I had two "vacancies" where my teeth were missing, but at least I could play comfortably with the temporary "Exeter bridge" in place. Had I known the outcome in terms of the uncomfortable bite sensation, I might even have opted for a denture or some other type of bridge. For now I'm practicing trombone (!!) and thinking about buying an EWI...

Thanks so much in advance for your time reading and any insight or advice you might offer.... And if you're gonna play hockey, definitely wear a face mask! :)

·
Registered