Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
2,134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trialing one of these now. I like it but my question is, do you find it better to go up in reed strength with these (as his site suggests) or up in tip opening without going to a harder reed? Thanks for any insight/experience you might have to offer.

· Registered
4,104 Posts
Hi Leon. I've been playing a DV for over 3 years. I play a 7* and use 2 1/2 Java red box reeds.

I don't know what reed strength you are using now but you may want to go up in the tip opening and maybe even go down in reed size in order to get a full sound.

If you tell me what you're using now that would help.

· Registered
4,104 Posts
Ok I had a STM 8 with soft reeds. I would use the same strength reed on the DV.

However the brand is important too.

I have way more tone colors especially in the lows with medium soft to soft reeds.

And the soft reeds give better flexibility.

The brand is crucial to get the sound that you like. I can't tell you what you like.

Ironically Rico Royal 2's gives a great sound through the entire range but I like 2 1/2 Java red's because it's a much harder reed.

Understand that the DV is very reed picky to get a full sound. Even within a brand and strength.

Many players try the DV with reeds that work on another mouthpiece and never really understand it.

But once you find the right reed there is nothing like it.

· Registered
561 Posts
I have been playing the DV for several years now. I play a 10. I agree that the reeds can make a big difference as to how these sound. I think it's because of the "secondary window", which allows more of the reed to vibrate, thus emphasizing the characteristics of the reed itself.