Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question About Yamaha Mouthpieces

I am a sax newbie who has been taking lessons for a few months and recently picked up a second horn (A Vito-branded Yamaha YAS-21) to leave on a stand in my living room so that I can get in a quick minute or two of practice whenever it's convenient. This sax came without a mouthpiece and I've been using a Yamaha 5C on it.

My "main" sax is a Yamaha YAS-62 "purple logo" that I've been playing with a Yamaha 5CM "Custom" mouthpiece. I'd like to have the two horns play as close to each other as possible and thought, without doing much research, that the 5C would be equivalent to the 5CM.

When I look at Yamaha's page with mouthpiece specs, though, it seems that the C series is generally .1 mm more open than the CM series. Is this correct? I've read elsewhere that the CM mouthpieces are more open, but Yamaha's numbers seem to contradict this.

Here's the page with the specs: https://usa.yamaha.com/products/musical_instruments/winds/mouthpieces/saxophones/custom_standard.html#product-tabs

Are Yamaha's specs correct or are the descriptions of the CM mouthpieces being more open correct?

Thanks for helping out a confused newbie.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,160 Posts
5cm
1.6mm tip by 22mm facing length
5c
1.7mm tip by 23mm facing

You usually see tip openings in thousandths of an inch and that is 63 vs 67 and that's a pretty big difference though usually only one "step". The facing length is going to also make a pretty big difference in response depending on how sensitive you are. If you want them to play the same, you need them to have the same mouthpiece..... If you're leaving on a stand you'll probably want to look at Legere reeds as well since cane is not going to be conducive to that kind of practice

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4