Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just switched to tenor from playing alto for 22 years,Yas82 which got stolen. So what I have right now is a opus usa which was a gift and it came with a premier hite tenor mouthpiece in new conditions by the way nice full tone with fibracell 5. I've been having GAS to buy a v16 to see if I get a better tone but maybe I should stay where I'm at since I like it. Does anyone know anything about the 29.99 plastic premier hite? Are they consider good since I'm new to tenor, or should I move to v16?

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
29,321 Posts
Does anyone know anything about the 29.99 plastic premier hite? Are they consider good since I'm new to tenor, or should I move to v16?
Yes they are good. generaslly considered beginner mouthpieces, however after 22 years of alto I see nothing wrong with experimenting and trying different mouthpieces.

Whether the best one for you is a Vi16 or soemthing else, nobody can answer - only you can know by trying them out. My instinct would also be to try different reeds, but maybe that is purely because I've never got on with Fibracells. (Disclaimer: I am a Legere endorser and always recommend Legere Signature, though I also recommend to try some cane reeds)

·
Registered
589 Posts
I have a Hite Premier, and while it’s considered a “student” mouthpiece, it’s a very good piece. Don’t let the price or the student designation sway you. If you like it, play it. Like Pete said, I would try a bunch of different reeds with it to see the difference. You’ll spend far less money on reeds than you would a new mouthpiece.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yes they are good. generaslly considered beginner mouthpieces, however after 22 years of alto I see nothing wrong with experimenting and trying different mouthpieces.