Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I just got registered and I apologize if I chose wrong forum part, but here it goes-

I recently bought an Opus Professional Soprano Saxophone via ebay for like 200$-ish and I am quite happy with the buying as I just bought it for fun- no serious business.

Though I must say I'm unhappy with the tiny and plastic mpc I got with it, I dare to say that it is the mpc that keeps me from getting a good intonation in the high pitches as the saxophone itself seems fit, and I'm no newbie coming to saxophones so hopefully it's not the player:mrgreen:

So I have been googling some, and it sounds like if I want to have a decent mpc for a cheap price, one would want to buy a pice from Rico right?

I am thinking about getting a Graftonite or a Metalite one, but I'm insecure what number I should get, or if I should have something different?

I have been playing on my Yamaha alto for ten years, and a Yamaha tenor for four years, both running on the standard of a 4C mpc, though I get very good results in both solo playing, big bands and orchestras.

For the last years I have been used to be playing with a fibracell reed, so to be safe than sorry I have ordered one for soprano just in case- I find it hard to get a good tune in the soprano with a wooden reed, but I guess that's mostly because I am used to be playing tenor, plus with a plastic reed.

What would you guys advice me to get?
I will mostly play solo as I will take it with me on my travel to Greece, so I have no particular band or anything to regard to.

I hope I have made myself clear and that I'm not confusing you guys!
Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
118 Posts