Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,838 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am interested in a clarinet that is for sale online. The seller says the crack is minor on the lower joint on where it connects with the bell.

I have posted a photo here: https://photos.app.goo.gl/MU5QmZiuvNxNmNuQ9

It looks minor to me, but I'm no expert. Any thoughts? Normally I wouldn't be interested but this model doesn't appear too often.

·
Registered
601 Posts
It's not as serious a concern as a crack in the upper portion of the clarinet. I'll leave it to the techs to suggest how to address it, but I'd buy it if it played well and the price was right, then I'd have a tech look at it.

·
Registered
3,750 Posts
Looks they the owner glued a chip back in. I wouldn't be too concerned about it at that location.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,939 Posts
It depends on your expectations. A tenon repair might cost $100+ and be worth it for an expensive clarinet. It might be a glue-it-and-forget-it repair on a lesser horn that just doesn’t matter.

·
Registered
3,750 Posts
It depends on your expectations. A tenon repair might cost $100+ and be worth it for an expensive clarinet. It might be a glue-it-and-forget-it repair on a lesser horn that just doesn’t matter.
Looks like it's already glued, in which case you can fuhgetaboutit if the glue is holding. The OP should assembly with some amount of care if that is the route.

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
What the others said.
But what crappy tenon cork material! I hope the standard of any other servicing is not that bad throughout the instrument..

·
Registered
1,838 Posts
Discussion Starter #8