Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

As you can see from my username i am a trumpet player by trade (dont kick me out!)
but I want to learn to play sax too. My friend is selling a conn shooting star and i was wondering if you guys
could give me your opinion. Hes selling it for $150. I think thats already a good price, but i think i can get it down to
$100 or $120 is that good? Here is the link: http://seattle.craigslist.org/see/msg/1692783414.html

I Know that the shooting stars that have a "N" in the serial number are mexican made and not very good, i have not seen it in person yet so i dont know. If it does have a N, is that still a good price or should i avoid it? and if it doesnt is this a steal? Also i dont know anything about sax parts and repair so are loose pads easily fixed and inexpensive or costly?

Thanks for your time,
Aaron

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
well i bought it anyway. i got down to $100 and i think i got a really good deal.

The horn has 98% of the lacquer and looks excellent despite thin scratches throughout the horn.
the serial number is L75742

i know that it was made in 1968 by the "L" prefix but was this made in nogales arizona? and is it bad quality compared to conn shooting stars from before.

i think i know why nobody responded earlier probably because of the number of other posts about conn shooting stars. you guys must be tired of anwsering the same thing.

but if you have any info on the 1968 "L" prefix ,model i would be glad and relived if you could tell me.

Thanks,
Aaron

·
Registered
418 Posts
100 bucks for a good shooting stars is a pretty good deal. My daughter plays a 1965 one and it holds up with good intonation. Good sax to start on and keep.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
39,565 Posts