Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a 51 yr old beginner who played sax in junior high and high school way back when. I was actually pretty good then.

I picked up a bundy II alto and am learning basics all over again. I'm a huge fan of Jay Beckenstein and nice jazz sax sound. I'm wondering what would be my next step up for a serious quality horn without breaking the bank but something that will be totally professional in function and sound. Maybe a few suggestions so I can keep an eye out for deals.

Thanks so much,
John

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Hi John: Welcome to SOTW and congrats to getting back in the pool!

Is there something wrong with your Bundy II? Rather than change horns so quickly, maybe a mouthpiece change would be all that is needed to make you fell like you are progressing. Even then, if there's nothing wrong with your equipment, maybe time is the best thing on your side.

Of course at your age (and I'm a lot older still) pride of ownership may kick in and if you can afford it and think you are in for the long-haul, nothing like going for the gold-ring, like a new or used Selmer-Paris, Yanagisawa, Yamaha or JK, or other similar brands that enjoy universal acceptance. DAVE

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The bundy was just checked out and seems to play fine. I got it for $100 and a number of pads repaired for another $100. It seems fine for where I'm at but as a certified gearslut I'm always wanting to see what a pro would need to use to get a quality sound. If the bundy II is capable of pro tone that's all I need.

I dont care about looks or brand just a solid pro quality instrument. Right now though I don't know the difference. Thanks for any tips.
John

·
14,268 Posts