Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Saxontheweb,
I'm a relative beginner, but not totally. I played alto for 3 years, tenor for 1, and then bari for 1, and then didn't play for a year. I am now trying to pick up the alto again, but I haven't played it for 3 years. I just went and bought a new set of reeds and got my alto out again. I feel I'm remembering fairly well, except I am having problems with puffy cheeks. As I play, my cheeks will puff out slightly, and it will start to hurt to try to keep them tucked in. If I force on, they puff out more and more until I am very airy in my playing and I can hardly sustain a note. What tips do you have? I have extensive music theory and saxophone knowledge, as I have been playing piano for ~8 years and I have worked closely with a band conductor in that time. Help?
-Spartacus

·
Registered
5,482 Posts
Can someone please help?
You have to develop the muscles in your face.

You don't mention what kind of setup you are playing, but it sounds like you need to treat embouchure development as if you're starting from scratch - i.e., soft reeds and a relatively closed-tip MP.

When I used to play rock and roll tenor playing a big MP at maximum volume for hours at a time, my cheek/surrounding muscles would give out before anything else and I would start losing the air seal. You're probably having the same thing happen except just a lot sooner since you don't have the chops development yet.

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
turf nailed it - it sounds like you're leaking air from the corners of your embouchure. It takes time to build your chops back up.

Play until you start to get tired, then take a break for five minutes, then play some more, and so on until your chops are blown for the day. After a few weeks of doing this, you'll be able to play for a lot longer than you can now.

·
Registered
3,022 Posts