Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,
I'm a junior in high school and I've been playing alto for three years. I didn't notice it until my band director pointed it out, but I puff out my cheeks while I play. He told me it was bad and to do long tones to fix it. I've been doing the long tones for about a month, at least 10min. a day.
My question is whether puffing cheeks is really that bad and how can I help speed up the process of getting rid of them in conjunction with my long tones? I feel like they're hurting my tone because there are days when I'm fine and I sound much better. I play a V16 A5 Medium on the school's Bundy II, if that makes a difference.

Also, I double as an oboe player, which is where i think it comes from.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
1,526 Posts
Play your long tones looking into a mirror... As a junior in high school you should have the stamina (patience) to play more than 10 minute long tone blows... play one each cycle for each chromatic note... Puffing out your cheeks can lead to the bad habit of using your cheek muscles to assist embouchure control, not the best method!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,144 Posts