Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
4,567 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got a new Protec case. Didn't break the bank ($150) and a real nice case. I had and old Protec case from the late 90's which I gave to a student. This one is much nicer (although I never had an issue with my old case).

·
Registered
647 Posts
Agreed. I use (new style) protec on my instruments, and have never had an incident with them. Very well designed cases.

·
Registered
711 Posts
I've been using ProTec cases since 2000 and have never had a problem with any of them. I've dropped cases, loaded instruments under bus's and checked them at the airport and not once have I had a damaged instrument.
I wish I could say the same about my custom 'flight' tenor case (brand will remain un-named as it is popular around these forums), when all was said and done it cost my $375 in repairs.

I'll stick with my ProTec.

·
Registered
711 Posts
Well, it wasn't one of my prouder moments, lets leave it at that.

·
4,567 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah I have been using a protec since 96 and I am not gentle with things...No case related problems.

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts

·
Registered
428 Posts
Just bought a new one and I can't argue one bit. They have really come a long way. Definitely the right price.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Saxus Envious Curmudgeon
3,860 Posts
:D @ gary

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2017
6,086 Posts
Yeah.....all you need until you drop it from about 3 feet high accidentally. One thing I agree with...(but will add on to)....."Save your money....DON'T by a ProTec! It almost DESTROYED my Mark VI when the strap broke! Better to spend more money on a GREAT case rather than spending it later on repair bills!