Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello
I've been playing saxophone for six years now and I've always loved jazz, been in a jazz band all six of those years, and I currently play lead alto in my high school jazz band. My question is a half euipment based and half skill building question I guess. The sound I'm looking for is what I would consider modern but maybe I'm completely off. It's what you hear the the modern lead alto play in a big band, but if I had to compare it to an artist I'd say a little bit of Cannonball or Phil Woods. Anyways I've tried everything to produce this tone, mouthpieces reeds exc. but I just can't get the sound I want and then I hear other high school band alto players play exactly how I want to and I get a little jealous. I know that many responses will be about listening and I do a lot of that and I pratice a lot of long tones but I can't get the sound. Anyways I currently play on a HR* Jody Jazz 6M. I was thinking about getting a new mp with a larger tip opening or smaller chamber for that bright modern sound I want so any feeback will help, thanks!

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
Hello