Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some of you may know that I've used and promoted the use of Fibracell reeds as one of the best synthetics. Nearly all the 500 + recordings I've done were using their reeds. It's with some sadness I'm now suggesting that you might be better off using something else.

I recently purchased two of their 2 1/2 tenor reeds. Both are stuffy and basically unplayable. I contacted the company and received a rather strange reply that effectively said we don't replace or guarantee what we sell. It went on the tell me how to suck eggs...you don't know how to put the reed on the mouthpiece properly, you need to buy other grades above or below what you think you need, etc.

When writing back (still politely) my experience was mentioned and that I've been playing their reeds for over 10 years. I said I'm not satisfied with their response and will share my dissatisfaction on this and other sax web sites, but would wait to hear back from them first (giving them another chance to so the right thing).

The next E-mail I received was basically threatening me with a law suit and continuing to maintain the insult that I just don't know how to play or use their reeds. I'm happy to make these E-mails in their detail available to anyone interested.

They are welcome to sue me or do whatever they wish. I have no respect for any company that doesn't stand behind their product (they didn't want to even examine the reeds in question).

You may wish to consider other reeds as it appears there may be some problem with their production and that they have made it extremely clear that they do NOT stand behind what they sell. This stands in extreme contrast to other makers who go out of their way to stand behind what they sell. I'm voting with my wallet and will now support those makers.

·
Registered
1,435 Posts