Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all. i'm self taught and have minimal note reading capacibility. i'm using a yts 52 that's just been repadded.
i have this problem with the 2nd octave G. it seems to shriek when i blow on it half of the time.
what i do is i correct my lower lip to be more flat on the table of the reed. it does seem to reduce the shrieking.

i dont have this particular issue on the soprano or the alto. and it only happens on this key.
before the yts 52, i had a selmer signet tenor. and i had the same issue. do i need to have a professional look
at my embouchure? or is there really a correction once you get to G2 on the tenor sax?

any tips are appreciated. thanks.

·
Registered
Alto sax, Tenor sax, Clarinet
1,307 Posts
Did you have this problem before repadding? If not, then you probably have a small leak present. Consider taking it back to the tech.

·
Registered
918 Posts
Assuming the tech did good work, and given you had a similar issue with your last tenor, look into a reed change. Too soft and flexible a reed would do this, especially at G-G#.

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
OP says same problem on a different horn. Sounds like an embouchure and air control problem. Could be wrong reed strength too. Fastest way to a solution would be to take a lesson with someone qualified who probably could sort you embouchure in a couple of sessions.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
OP says same problem on a different horn. Sounds like an embouchure and air control problem. Could be wrong reed strength too. Fastest way to a solution would be to take a lesson with someone qualified who probably could sort you embouchure in a couple of sessions.
thanks. this is what i plan to do.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts