Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Fellow Musicians

Firstly, I thank all the Senior Musicians here for their Effective and quintessential reply.
I have been playing Sax for 2 years now.
I played more of Tenor Sax for almost a month and when i tried to play Alto again, I'm having trouble playing Lower notes specially D & C. There are unwanted Squeaks and Whistles.
To be honest this is Disappointing and Frustrating too.
Kindly, suggest how can i improve/rectify on this and what measures should i take to balance this in future.

Regards
Vaibhav

·
Banned
4,517 Posts
OneSaxyGuy said:
I had the same problem with switching from tenor to alto. I just shed the tenor after and it was all good.
That does not solve his problem however. Shed his Tenor. You are going to want to do is try playing the Tenor and Alto in the same pratice session. You mouth needs to become adjusted to the smaller mouthpiece. I had a similar problem, but it was just my ombuchere. That could be your case.
Try praticing like this for a week and see if it gets better.

-Carbs

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Champion of the C-Me
2,058 Posts
You may well find that you have a natural preference (and ease of playing) for just one of them - but that doesn't mean you can't play both well.

And, like Carbs says, you need to practise them (reasonably) together. If you play one for any length of time, excluding the other, then (especially in the early doubling days) the changeover will seem more extreme, and take a little getting used to - again..

·
Read Only
806 Posts
If you want to play both effectively, you're gonna have to spend that much more time.

I mean, think of the cats you dig...98% of the time, they play 1 type of horn...it's their voice.

If you don't have 18 hr/day to shed, focus on just 1 type & develop your voice on it.