Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been learing for about 6 months on a Jupiter student model. I've never had any probs with the Jupiter. Now I just got a used YAS-62 on Ebay.
It needed some work, so I took it to my tech and he checked it through, did some small repairs and set it up for me. So, mechanically it is fine.

Now I´ve got it home and I'm having a couple of small problems:
1. When slurring up from middle C :space3: to middle D :line4: , it (almost) always jumps up to high A :line6: .
Funnily enough, if I tongue the D its always clean and it doesnt jump.
Anyone had similar problems, or can give me a tip as to what I´m doing wrong?

2. On my Jupiter I use a S80 C*, which sounds just great and is easy to blow. Now, using the same setup on the Yamaha it gives a lot more resistance. I tried the mouthpiece that I got with the Jupiter and it was a lot easier to blow on the Yamaha, but the sound is just not so good as the C*.
Anyone got any tips for a nice alround Mouthpiece that would give less resistance?

Maybe these are just a matter of getting used to the yas-62?

·
SOTW Administrator
26,243 Posts
Make sure that the ring finger of the left hand comes down at EXACTLY the same time as the other fingers.

Practice slurring from c-d, d-c slowly, and think about the left hand ring finger coming down maybe a little before the other fingers.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2009
3,204 Posts
As Hakunani says.

I want to add :

I had the experience that focusing on an open throat and a relaxed embouchure does make a huge difference. Read a bit trough the forum, there is plenty of information repeated a thousand times concerning these things.

Every gear you have to get used to again. I went from a very free blowing sax to a sax with a lot more resistance. If I go back, I still like the free blowing, but it feels awkward in the beginning.