Discussion Starter #1
Hi!
I wonder if there are any benefit's to practise with a harder reed,and then
perform with a softer!The other day I found a fibracell medium alto in my
box of reed's,and put it on and started to practise!It was hard to blow,but I
kept on useing it for a couple of days!I did not like the sound I get,so when
I started to record a song in my home studio,I put on my usual RR 2.5,
and found out that it was much easyer to play,and I had much more control
of the pitch and sound! Of course I had to take some time to adjust to the softer reed before I started to record!
Thanx for any advice!
opus7

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013-
5,183 Posts
Sure it makes sense. A friend of mine sheds with a 5 reed for a couple of days before important performances.

·
Registered
43 Posts

Am I just weird, but when I started playing Vandoren 4's it was hard to get any kind of sound, but after a couple days, I loved 'em; but when
i tried to play my 3's, I was nasty flat and just plain icky. :p

·
Banned
5,336 Posts
My suggestion is to practice with the same setup you would perform on. Find a reed strength you are comfortable with and that gets the sound you want and stick with that. If you need more control in your sound, practice long tones rather than put on a harder reed.

As your embouchure develops you may want to move to a stiffer reed, but let the embouchure determine the reed, not the reed determine the embouchure.

John

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
712 Posts
I agree with jbtsax.. practicing with a hard reed and then returning to your normal setup will just make you need to readjust your embouchure.. it's a better idea to just practice with the setup you're most comfortable with. Nothing wrong with trying out a harder reed, for sure.. but there doesn't seem much point in constantly switching back and forth.

·
Registered
43 Posts

oh, i've switched to the Vandoren 4's now. :D