Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I've been playing the guitar for two years and recently picked up the saxophone. I've heard from several sources that learning to play a bit of piano can be very beneficial to ones sax playing, but I'm already fluent (more or less) on the guitar (theory-wise as well) and am wondering, whether or not I can use this instead of having to try and play three instruments as I wanna dive pretty deep into both guitar and saxophone. Practicing with a guitar is obviously quite a different matter due to how it is designed (it's very geometric and more visual than the piano, can't be played while holding the saxophone etc.), so would this be a good idea? Has anybody tried both and what has been your experience?

Thank you very much in advance and happy new year!

Cheers,

meltphace

·
Registered
918 Posts
I played guitar for around 40 years before taking saxophone and trumpet more seriously than playing simple melodies on them. I believe anyone advising piano lessons as a means to improve on sax is just saying to study a chord instrument to better understand note relationships and harmonization. That is more difficult when hearing only one note at a time.

If you already play guitar proficiently enough to sight read through fake books, and know how to form the most used 4 and 5 note chords in all keys (M7, M6, m7, m6, 9th, flat5, aug, dim, 1/2dim, and the like) by note, not by rote memorization of bar chords at 5th and 6th string fret position, I see no advantage to taking up piano; at least not for improving on saxophone.

But with just two years playing guitar, you'd be a rare student to be at that level. My advice at this point is to try piano. Get yourself an inexpensive Yamaha keyboard with its built-in tutorials. See how you like it. The piano is the more versatile instrument. If it works out for you, I doubt that you would ever regret the switch from guitar.

·