Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All right, I'm a freshman in college in a music ed major. I was just wondering what everyone's opinions are on practicing leading up to an audition/jury/recital. I'm talking the week before until the day of the performance. Do you practice more, or less?

I found in all my ensembles, from band to choir to musicals, rehearsals are pretty laid back until a week or two before a concert, then things get insane. My theory has always been that you should be doing more practicing months before, and once you're within a week, you should be backing off more. The night before and day of a performance especially concerns me. I'm torn between feeling like I need to work out some extra technical things and feeling like I need to keep myself from getting tired. I don't want to make my jaw get tired or bite through my lip a lot right before a big audition or jury. So what are your thoughts?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
When I am getting ready for a big performance, I try to start upping my practice routine as far an advance as I can. My goal is always to get so familiar with the pieces I am playing that as the day approaches, the routine gets very easy. I'm performing something special with my wife this Monday night at our church's annual revival. That's a big event for us. And at this point the music is so ingrained into me that I can almost step outside of myself and just listen while I'm playing it. There's no stress and no overwork at this point. And that's where I want to be. There's no need to take off a day or step up more.

I believe this is a good way to prepare for anything.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
5,444 Posts
I'm with EG! Front-load the practice so you can relax the day before the audition.

Prior to that though, the axiom is to practice till you can't play it wrong.

·
Registered
529 Posts