Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day everyone,

I browsed some posts here, but to be honest, got lost :D

I am a very beginner alto player, who during last months played occasionally. I have more time now, and would like to improve, however I do not have a practice routine.

I have a relatively good ears, and I can play out some pieces and always prefer to play tunes.

My routine this days has been: Long tones, plus scales (not any major or minor) just playing up and down the sax, and afterwards I play some tunes, I either transcribe or I don't know.

If anyone can suggest me scales or other staff I would appreciate. Can you also tell me if scales are hat important? For example, on piano, I have never played scales, I always played different compositions. And besides I have very good technique for piano, because you practice your technique within the composition. Is it different for sax?

I feel very motivated now and would appreciate your help very much.

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,587 Posts
I am a part-time player too (don't make a living playing sax). My goal for practice sessions is to have focus, as I am easily distracted. I divide up my time and make sure I hit on a few major (to me) things: overtones, long-tones, a technical goal (scales, chords, whatever I am working on in lessons at the time), guided improv (with play-alongs, or specific scales/ keys centers, etc), learning tunes and playing for fun (MOST important to me). I always try to record the playing for fun time, a lot of ideas have come from that time. When I have extra time I work on other things like altissimo playing, working on reading skills...

When life is too busy, and I only have a few minutes to play: I focus on tone production first unless there is something specific to work on for my lesson that week.