Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently own the Tenor, Alto and Soprano saxes. I started on alto and moved to tenor sometime ago but I've always had only one sax at any one time.

I've now come to realize that each sax has a voice of its own and I love them all. Is there a formula or routine for successfully maintaining 3 saxes at a time?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,160 Posts
lots of hours in the shed is really the only way to maintain it. Soprano is the hardest if you really want to be a soprano player. Most people I know have their preferred horn that most of their playing and practicing is done on, then try to give at least an hour each week to the other horns to maintain their embouchure. Switch up when you get called for a gig.
I am primarily a pit musician, so I have to maintain piccolo, flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, SATB saxes, and should be doing more on bassoon. I normally only practice flute, clarinet, alto sax at home. I play in a wind ensemble once a week for a 3 hour rehearsal on bari which keeps it up, and depending on when gigs get called, I'll pick the others up, just don't have time for everything and I believe one solid practice session on one horn is better than a jumbled mess of all of them.

·
Registered
5,241 Posts
It's tough to give any practical advice without knowing how much you practice, i.e., how many days per week, and how many minutes/hours per day. Also, do you practice with scheduled public performances in mind, or do you just play at home for personal enjoyment and improvement?