Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been playing soprano for a few years and when I move into the higher range of the instrument, it is not difficult to pump out the sound with power and emotion.

Not so with my Alto! I am playing a Kessler Custom (Selmer copy as many Asian horns are). My current set up is one of two: Runyon Custom #7, Rovner Light, Fibracell 3 and a Kessler 50/50NY, Rico H, Fibracell 3. Both setups are similar in tone and flexibility. My problem is when I move above high C the sound gets alittle thin, the power is gone, and if I push too hard the reed closes.

Any suggestions? New set up? What do I need to change?

I usually play the soprano in Weddings but I have a piece that would really work well with my Alto. The particular song really demands power in the high range.

Thanks in advance,

Glenn

·
Registered
193 Posts
I think you should experiment with reeds to find a slightly harder one because soft reeds will sound thinner and shriller in the higher register. Or you could invest in a Meyer medium chamber cause those seem to have nice and powerful higher notes, but your lower notes might be sacrificed in the process if your used to a larger chambered mouthpiece. Also, work on your overtones because you might be pinching idk your skill level or what not.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Tin Man, You might be right. Because I am used to the Sop, I do tend to pinch a bit. I find if I take in more mouthpiece it is easier to hit the highs without the reed closing. I am not opposed to a tighter chamber if that will get me the power in the high end. When I put the spoiler in the Runyon, it is easier to hit the notes, however, it still sound thin. I know my skill level is suffering, but when I hear what Dave Koz or Danny Jung do with their top end, without Altissimo, it amazes me.

Thanks

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #6