Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
762 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all, I have zero experience with Mauriat horns but on a whim I paid out for a Le Bravo alto from an online used goods store, no hassle returns policy etc for $850......... I figured at that price I couldn’t lose.... Well, it arrived today and I opened the case to find a vintage dark LQ 67R. It’s in really good condition and plays really well with the serial number ending 08, and those above it in 03. Are these relevant to dating it? Would you say this is better than the Le Bravo or has time overtaken this 67R in terms of build quality? Either way, $850???? Seems a bargain to me 😊. I’m just getting serious about playing again after a 12year absence and was enjoying a cheap Jupiter until today. Wow. What a stroke of luck. I can’t help but feel guilty.

·
Registered
31 Posts
The serial number is relevant to dating, meaning that yes, it was made in March of 2008. Sounds like a bargain to me. In my experience, the 67r plays better than the Le Bravo. Of course, a buddy of mine says the opposite, (he owns a Le Bravo.) Sounds like a great deal to me, assuming that the horn is real. I'd definitely consider you lucky, congrats! :)

·
Registered
762 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi, thanks for the response. Yes, it's definitely genuine. Although I have to admit, it's virtually, if not absolutely identical (bar the rolled tone holes) to another alto I have under a different name......That one plays wonderfully too. Which to keep.......... ;)

·
Registered
65 Posts
I am also moving from the Le Bravo to a 67R (gold lac). With my minimal training (5 years) as a late bloomer, I find the 67R better sounding (brighter, focused) but I will miss the nickel silver neck... :(

·
Registered
762 Posts
Discussion Starter #5