Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I don't know if 28 counts as a late bloomer, but I'm going to go with it cause i feel that way anyway.

No matter what I do, my ( cheap stock) mouthpiece won't go on my ( cheap student awfully intonated ) sax far enough to play an e flat with c fingering.

My mouthpiece also by itself blows a g sharp as opposed to an A. I can push it up 50 cents if i really tighten my embouchure etc. which I know isn't the way to play.

I'll have another good quality mouthpiece coming over around the Christmas period when my sister ( lives in NY ) visits me in India cause import duty + shipping etc double the price of musical instruments / accessories here.

In the meantime, anything wrong in tuning the thing to concert D and learning away ( I'm doing it anyway ). I'm a professional musician/ composer by profession and don't really have too many problems on the theory / transposing side. Just thought I'd check what the potential pitfalls to this approach might be if any.

·
Registered
114 Posts
I'd be very very cautious about learning a new instrument with the transposition "built in". Like they say, "first impressions are important": habits and mental models you form in the beginning will be difficult to move away from later. You might say to yourself, "Ah, it's just a transposition, I can change it later," but why set yourself up with habits that will be surprisingly hard to break later?