Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
1,514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anybody dealt with this? I got this injury when I started lifting weights again last year and it's doing much better. However, standing is when the pain comes back the most. That makes gigs very difficult. I've been using a stool to keep off my when I'm not playing and try to sit as much as possible when teaching. It's been about 12 months and the progress is so slow but at least it's getting better. Anybody else have this problem before?

·
Registered
27 Posts
I have been dealing with this for the last couple of months and man it is annoying (and painful). I have found that soaking the offending foot in an ice bath for about as long as you can take it and taking Ibuprofin helps tremendously.

Of course, I am no doctor your milage may vary....

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Forum Contributor
4,379 Posts
Stretching exercises helped me...lifting the front of the foot to stretch the arch and heel, curling my toes, etc.

·
Registered
1,514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I found some of the stretches to help tremendously. The typical calf stretches did very little for me. The plantar specific ones made a huge difference. The strange thing is that always the next morning I feel great. It's just getting through an entire gig or recording session that is the killer.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2011
1,612 Posts
My dad is a podiatric surgeon. He runs into this all the time. Often simply wearing lifts in you shoes that support your arch can relieve almost all of the pain. A well made set of orthotics, casted by a professional, help in the next level of severity. (Also, don't walk around bare-footed; it just aggravates the situation.) In more serious situations, a simple out-patient surgery solves the problem.

·
Banned
5,336 Posts