Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody else out there get there hands on this newer piece?

I've had mine since October, and I think it's great for what I was looking for, and that is lead alto playing. Not only is it extremely easy to project and sit on top of the section, it is just as easy to play soft. The tone is unified between registers, it really sings.

·
Registered
313 Posts
I also find mine allows me to cut through or play quiet West Coast-style tones, both very well. The only problem is that my dog starts howling when I practice. Doesn't do this on any mouthpiece with either tenor or soprano, or with my alto on any other mouthpiece. Just when I play the Rift. I wonder why? Perhaps the unusual two-step baffle puts out frequencies that dogs can hear.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I have little experience with alto mouthpieces, but this one interests me. Would you guys say it's a very bright piece? Are there any other mouthpieces you can compare it to?

·
Registered
313 Posts
I wouldn't say that, although describing a sound in words is hard. I'd sure say it's loud. For a given amount of air, it's definitely louder than any other mouthpiece I've played. But I still think the sound is pretty rounded. At low volumes it still can sound pretty West Coast. Not much buzziness, at least when I play it. I've tried a few brighter mouthpieces but I really don't like a bright sound. I don't recall my dog barking and howling when I used others. Just this one. Maybe someone with advanced sound equipment can find out if the two-step baffle produces extra tones at pitches that people can't hear.

·
Registered
1,783 Posts
I hate asking questions like this, because i know it all boils down to personal taste, which is the obvious answer but I would like a start off point if i may ...