Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I'm a complete beginner here - and a late developer to boot, having received an alto sax for my 48th birthday. I'll probably have lots and lots of questions, so I apologise in advance.

My saxophone came with a padguard like this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rico-Alto-S...8E/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1299743414&sr=8-10

But I read somewhere that they shouldn't be used all the time as they don't let the pads dry - instead to clean out the inside of the sax I need a pull through sax swab.

I've checked online, they are fairly cheap so I don't have a problem with buying one - but do I need it or are the padguards better?

And do I need a pull through sax swab for the neck, as well - or will the one do both?

Advice appreciated!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Is it possible for a mod to move this please - I meant to post it in the beginners section? Apologies and thanks in advance!

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,948 Posts
Welcome! I am kind of new here too...This site is a wealth of information and GREAT conversation. There are a lot of differing views on pad-savers (use search function), but the members are generally civil on this, and other topics...if not, the Moderators do a great job of either weeding out offenders, or locking threads that have gotten out of hand.

Good luck to you! I started at 28 (now 34), and it is the best thing I've ever done...if my wife ever reads this post, it is the SECOND best thing I've ever done:mrgreen:

I have two silk baritone swabs. I keep one in the alto case and one in the tenor case. The string is long enough to pull it through the horn and the neck at the same time. On gigs and lessons, I just run the swab through several times. When I am at home I do the same swab routine followed by a few push-pulls with the pad-saver, then I put the horn in the case and leave it open with the swab draped over to dry out.

·