Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok

A little background, I am not a pro,,just weekend warrior, had to sell my reference, and my yas82z alto this winter due to cash flow.

I came across a 76 1st edition NEW with one year warranty,for $1900,,,,right now I have no horn,,and that bothers me,,but given my financials, I cant justify a $4k for another reference

should I pull the trigger,, I can get either finish,,,,I play Jazz mostly

Thanks

·
Registered
3,715 Posts
I think he means a Selmer Reference alto at $4k. $1900 is an okay price for a new P. Mauriat Sys 76 and though I like Mauriats ( I own a Sys 76 tenor) I wouldn't pay this. Right now there are so many lightly used horns on the market that you can get some really great deals on nearly new instruments. If you are patient you should be able to get another 82z or many other pro level altos in near mint condition for right around $2k.

·
Registered
88 Posts
$1900 is a good deal for System 76 First edition, new ones seem to retail for quite a lot more than that! They are nice horns too!

·
Registered
149 Posts
You can do better, for less than 1900, there are a lot more and better choices than PM. Same Spec from same factory with different logo with save you at least few more hundred. Unless you are the one who believe in all that PM french connection fairytale. otherwise, try as much horn as posisble and don't try to ask here, because their work and endorsee will tell you everything to get you to buy their horn.

·
Premium Member
62 Posts