Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having picked up sax after over 25 years on shelf, and having just bought a new tenor, I am a beginner, compared to those posting their playing here, not likely to present my efforts in public any time soon.
However, Here are a couple of items which may be interesting to others looking for new classical studies or pieces - perhaps these may be of interest to those of you who teach saxophone.
1. Had been playing from Klose, 25 daily exercises, no. 5: as a former violin student, I realized that this was taken from Kreutzer's famous "42 studies or caprices", known to all serious violin students, at least in the old days. I brought in my old Schirmer edition, and my teacher transferred the assignment to the original - Kreutzer's caprice # 2 (which, as I recall, received some play on early Television by ? Jack Benny or another comedian, with violin). #2 puts the sax to work on articulation, with some nice octave jumps (I had a difficult time with these on my soprano and alto, while my new YTS 575 jumps more easily to bring out the low notes.)
The rest of the caprices are very musical for studies. For the most part, they can be played within the sax range, with a few notes below and above, while some will be quite challenging, with jumps hard for sax but achieved on violin by bowing from one string to another. #2 is one of the easier ones for saxophone. A few of the caprices are involve chords bridging two violin strings - but still are adaptable. If this sounds interesting, ask a violinist friend whether you could look these over; they should be easily available on amazon.com, with about 70 pages of sheet music for about $10.
2. The second item I picked out from a stack of old music I had collected, without serious piano study: J.S. Bach's Notenbuch der Anna Magdalena Bach (this is the title of the Edition Peters).